living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Give Thanks

Leave a comment

 

Monday morning….the first day of the new school year. Little boys are sweetly sleeping and are so not ready to be awakened. The alarm clock rings and I am not ready for it. We had a wonderful, but FULL Lord’s day in church the day before and quickly began to feel overwhelmed. Was I prepared for the day? Well, I felt like I had prepared as much as I possibly could, but somehow I still felt overwhelmed. The Holy Spirit quickly ran to my aid – as He always does – and reminded me of some sweet truths….Psalm 18:1, “I will love thee, O Lord, my strength.The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.”

A few minutes later, I opened a notebook and the following article fell out that I had “stashed” away about 3 years ago.  It’s a letter that a lady submitted to Ann Landers and desired to be published. Beware – it is very convicting!!
Dear Ann Landers: I hope you will print something a friend in Australia sent me. — Bee in Fairfax, Va.

Things to Be Thankful For:

·Be thankful for the clothes that fit a little too snug, because it means you have enough to eat.
·Be thankful for the mess you clean up after a party, because it means you have been surrounded by friends.
·Be thankful for the taxes you pay, because it means you’re employed.
·Be thankful that your lawn needs mowing and your windows need fixing, because it means you have a home.
·Be thankful for your heating bill, because it means you are warm.
·Be thankful for the laundry, because it means you have clothes to wear.
·Be thankful for the space you find at the far end of the parking lot, because it means you can walk.
·Be thankful for the lady who sings off-key behind you in church, because it means you can hear.
·Be thankful when people complain about the government, because it means we have freedom of speech.
·Be thankful for the alarm that goes off in the early morning hours, because it means you’re alive.

The Holy Spirit so sweetly, but strongly convicted me and reminded me that I have absolutely nothing to complain about. He sees, hears and knows all. He had charted my day for me and had already measured out the amount of strength and grace I would need. How about you? Are you relying on the strength that only the Lord can give, or are you relying on your own “Mommy Power”? Have you thanked the Lord today for the little things? Are you trusting him with your daily schedule today?

In every season of life, we must always remember that we have so much for which to be thankful. Life…health… family… a God who sees, hears and knows everything about us …a God who cares about the smallest things in our day.

Give thanks unto the Lord, call upon His name, make known His deeds amont the people. Sing unto Him, sing.” – I Chronicles 16:8-9

“O give thanks unto the Lord; for He is good; for His mercy endureth forever.” – I Chronicles 16:34

“Therefore will I give thanks unto thee, O Lord, among the heathen, and sing praises unto Thy name.” – Psalm 18:49

“Sing unto the Lord, o yea saints of His, and give thanks at the remembrance of His holiness.” Psalm 30:4

“To the end that my glory may sing praise to thee, and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give thanks unto thee  forever.” – Psalm 30:12

“In EVERY THING give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” – I Thessalonians 5:18

Blessings,
Leah

Leave a Reply

