living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Little by Little

Leave a comment

When I was little, we listened to Patch the Pirate a lot. One song said,

“Little by little, inch by inch. By the yard, life’s hard, by the inch what a cinch.”

Do you know how true that is?

I’m trying to lose weight. Again. And if I think about having to count calories for basically the rest of my life, I want to give up. But if I think about today, and making good choices for THIS meal, I can do it.

The same is true of parenting. Sometimes taking care of my little ones is exhausting. Thinking about taking care of them constantly for the next 20 years overwhelms me! There is so much to teach them. There are so many Biblical principles I want to instill in them. There are so many character traits, and good habits they need to learn. But it happens one day at a time, one problem at a time. One victory at a time.

Lamentations tells us, “It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.”

So, today I’m not going to live my life. I’m going to live today.

“Never stare up the staircase, just step up the steps. Little by little, inch by inch!”

❤ Joy

Leave a Reply

