living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

The Mommy Athlete

1 Comment

As many of you know, Jimmy and I are here in London doing evangelistic work at the Paralympics. I have just been soaking in the buzz of the atmosphere! It is very exciting and electrifying. I am coming home with a  renewed goal for physical fitness. Not because I want to be an athlete, but these girls look REALLY good in their chairs and I am jealous!:)

I have been interviewed several times by different TV stations and yesterday by a newspaper. They are all curious to get the perspective of a wheelchair user who is visiting London. I must scream tourist! I have too much ham in me because I am thoroughly enjoying telling them my opinions and sharing with them why we are here. However, a question was asked yesterday that has left me thinking. The reporter at the end of our conversation said to me, “So, would you love to be a Paralympic athlete?” I quickly reported, “Sure! But for now, I am raising 6 children. Does that count?” We laughed and that was that. But my mind  has kept returning to that thought.

The athletes here are absolutely amazing. For example, I was 10 feet away from one 2 days ago. He is in a wheelchair and he is missing one arm and one leg (picture above). He competes in archery and he shoots a compound bow, pulling the string with his teeth. He is good! Last night, I watched Great Britain’s young wheelchair racer. She is 20 years old and set a world record in her 100 meter dash. It took all of 30 seconds. She said in her interview that she has been working for 4 years for this moment. Do you understand that statement? Those 4 years have been full of gym time, healthy eating, competing and lots of wheeling! She has worked very hard for 4 years for a 30 second moment of time? But what a pay-off!! She set a world record and won a gold medal for her country. She could not quit laughing and smiling. She was so excited and I was cheering for her! What a personal accomplishment!

I think that as Christian wives and mothers, we have all these grand dreams and desires for our homes, our marriages and our children. We want to be strong women of faith, we want children that will walk in the way of the Lord, and we want to grow old knowing that we have stayed faithful and the heritage that we leave behind will also stay faithful.

We do not get to ride this wave of accomplishment without a cost. There are going to be years of hard work, prayers, tears, and a lot of sacrifice. But let’s not lose sight of the prize. Let’s not get so overwhelmed in this season of our life that we forget what we are competing for. I don’t know about you, but I am in a full-fledged war against Satan for my home. I know he wants to destroy it and the battle is on! Let’s not grow weary! There is a goal. There is a prize! Keep your eyes on the prize!

So here’s to all my fellow mommy athletes – I am cheering for you! Keep up the good work!

~ Alicia

Author: Alicia Reagan

In March of 2009, while expecting my 6th baby, I contracted Transverse Myelitis - a rare illness that left me paralyzed from my ribs down. It has changed my life in many horrible and wonderful ways. I love to talk about it all. The good, the bad and the ugly. It is always raw and real around here as I share my work in advocacy and accessibility, my heart for the spiritual lessons learned, my music that speaks my soul, and my love for my home and family. Welcome.

One thought on “The Mommy Athlete

  1. Loved this and needed it! Thanks for sharing your heart

Leave a Reply

