living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

He calms the sea

Leave a comment

He Calms the Sea

Our family just got back from spending a few days in Florida on the Gulf of Mexico. We enjoyed a great time of rest and relaxation. I was reminded how important it is to slow down for a little while! Our cottage was right on the beach. The picture above is the view we had from our front door. The sea was calm and there were few people around. I have always been fascinated with the sea! I could sit and listen to the waves all day!!

As I was having my quiet time with the Lord one morning, overlooking the calm water, I began to think about how our lives are sometimes like the ocean. Sometimes calm and peaceful and at other times chaotic and stormy. God referenced the sea many times in the Bible. He used the sea many times to draw people to him. He used the sea in the lives of Jonah, the disciples, the people of Israel, and others.

Last year, my husband and I got to visit Hawaii. Some of the waves were up to 15-20 feet high when we were there. They say that the waves can get up to 50 feet high on the Northern part of Oahu! The waves would knock my husband down when he was standing in the shallow water. The waves were forceful and brutal, but yet beautiful.

I think that life is sometimes that way. We feel like the waves of problems keep coming at us. If we are not careful we will get knocked down! How do we keep from getting knocked down by these problems? It is only God that can give us peace at these times. We have to constantly have our eyes on him and not the storms. He is the maker of the sea! Sometimes the problems may seem brutal but God may be using them to make us into something beautiful for Him!

I know that when I neglect having real quality time with the Lord, I do not react properly to the storms in my life. The sea may be calm now, but the storms will come. It is only the Word of God and the Holy Spirit that can give me peace in the midst of the storm. Mathew 8:26 says “And he saith unto them, Why are ye fearful, O ye of little faith? Then he arose, and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a great calm.” God is in control of the storms in life, He can calm it when he wants to and the way He wants. Sometimes He is testing our faith or teaching us something. We need to remember Isaiah 26:3 “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.”

Dema Johnson

Leave a Reply

