living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Blessings in a Jar

3 Comments

A few weeks ago, my husband, Nick, and I were discussing the Lord’s provision in our lives. I told Nick about an idea I had seen on Pinterest months ago. It was a jar where you would keep your blessings from the year, then on New Years Eve, read them all with the family. I do a horrible job at keeping a journal and have always wanted to have something written down about God’s answers to prayer and blessings in my life but after beginning I can’t ever remember to actually sit down with my journal and put it all on paper. Well, Nick loved the idea so later that week, we started one! It has been so much fun writing stuff down and tossing it in the jar. We have written down activities we have been able to do as a family, special events in the children’s lives (Lauren’s first little girl bday party, a visit from Nana and Papa, etc.), answers to prayer, and so on.

It is so easy to get our eyes off of the Lord and onto our problems. I don’t know about you, but for me it is always during those times that I forget about the goodness of God and become discouraged. It has amazed me how writing something down on a regular basis has brought so many more things to mind that the Lord has done for our little family…almost like gratefulness breeds gratefulness. I am praying that the Lord will use this little “pinterest project” in our home to keep His blessings fresh on our hearts and minds so we may allow Him to receive the glory for all of the great things He has done for us.

~ Sarah
3 thoughts on “Blessings in a Jar

  1. Love this idea! I’m going to do it! 🙂 I bet it will fill up super fast!

  2. Sowing and reaping gratefulness…..a lovely thought for harvest time!

  3. Great idea! Thanks for sharing…I always love to rehearse and share with others answered prayer!

Leave a Reply

