living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

According to His purpose…

Leave a comment

I’ll never forget the way I felt before I got saved.

It always seemed to feel like there was something missing in my life.

I wasn’t exactly sure what my “purpose” was.

That all changed in my life as a 16-year-old girl the day I asked Christ into my heart. He began to show me exactly what that was in my life.

As I’ve grown and matured as a Christian, God has been speaking to me.

With each trial I’ve gone through and each struggle I’ve faced, God is using it to bring me closer to Him.

Some days I definitely do not feel adequate, and some days I fail, greatly; but God is still working in my life.

After our little girl went to Heaven, I remember feeling so broken. I wondered how I could ever truly find happiness again. I really never thought I would smile again.

But in my brokenness, God is still moving.

2 Corinthians 12:9

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Though some days are still hard, and I still miss my daughter very much, God is using our family. He is providing strength.

It seems like lately there have been so many families who have been through tragedies and hardships.

Maybe you are one of them?

Days are long and heartaches are real, but God is good.

He knows our hearts. He knows our prayers before they live our lips. He knows our future.

We may not be able to understand His ways, but there is purpose in everything we are faced with in this life.

I’ll never forget a story that one of my sweet friends shared with me about a quilt.

Life is like a quilt.

When a child sits on the floor watching their mother stitch a quilt, all they can see from their view on the ground is random strings, knots and various threads.

It looks messy and purposeless. But when the child sits on their mother’s lap and views the quilt from the mothers perspective, above it has a beautiful pattern.

Every color, every stitch, every string has a place and is so pretty when woven together.

It’s just like us here on earth… All we see are the strings and knots, but in heaven when we see from God’s perspective, then we will see the pattern of His will and understand His purpose. Until then we have to trust the one weaving our lives and rest assured in the end, the Lord is making something more beautiful than we could have ever imagined.

This is so true.

You may not be able to make sense of everything in your life right now, but God has a purpose in all of it. He has a plan and one day (in Heaven) it will all be revealed to us.

I want God to use my life in a great way. I want my quilt to be beautiful.

I don’t get to watch my daughter grow, but I’ve been able to use her little story and mention her name and through it have built “Maddie’s ministry”. Maddie’s ministry was born the evening of her funeral as 2 souls accepted Christ that night. It has continued to grow since. I’ve had the opportunity to lead dozens and dozens of people to Christ personally. I know telling other’s about Christ is what God wants me to do, and I’m glad that my daughter’s little testimony can be a part of that. It reminds us that life is at best brief, and eternity is real.

I know that her little life of 2 days had purpose and I know that mine does as well. God is showing me and helping me to push forward always trusting Him and knowing that He loves me.

I’m thankful that God has a purpose in my life.

Are you struggling, friend? Are you questioning your purpose?

Does your heart ache? Do you want to understand why things are the way they are?

Run to the Lord.

He will give you strength. He will guide you, and He will hold your hand every step of the way.

Romans 8:28

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

Much Love,

Natalie

Leave a Reply

