living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

“Hid in Mine Heart”

1 Comment

The new year is upon us! SO, so hard to believe it’s 2013. It’s the day all those resolutions begin! Or maybe you’re waiting until Monday.

I love the new year! It’s actually one of the best feelings in the world to me. It’s a chance to put all my failures in the past, and go forward.

I want to share one of my New Year’s Goals with you here today, and challenge you to follow along with my family.

“Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.” ~ Psalm 119:11

I was challenged (actually forced!) as a young girl to memorize lots of Scripture! Maybe I can’t still quote the verse word-for-word, but I was privileged to learn many, many Bible verses in Sunday School, Christian School, and later home school. As a child, boy, I hated it! It was such a drudgery! 😉 But now that I am older, and the Lord brings them to mind when I need them, I am ever grateful for those young years spent memorizing. The Word of God transforms our minds, and makes our lives more like Jesus.

I so desire this for my children!

family-bible-study-reduced_edited-11

Several months ago, I came across this post and decided right then and there, to do it! This post has a lot of great ideas, but I’m sure we will stray from the list a little. It is so important to teach our children the Word of God!  Young children can memorize very easily! It is really amazing! Just a few weeks ago, my boys (5 and 3) were given a memory verse in our Wednesday night program. We only worked on it about 4 nights, and they got it perfectly! It really doesn’t take that much work!

In 2013, my children will start learning the Bible. Our entire family is going to do it together!

Will you join me? I am going to try my best to post our weekly verse on my personal blog, here.

Happy New Year!

❤ Joy

One thought on ““Hid in Mine Heart”

  1. Love this. It’s not really a NY resolution for me, because my daughter was born in November, but it is a goal of mine for us to start family devotions with her. I know it will strengthen our marriage as well as our relationship with our daughter as she grows. I’ve also found that praying while nursing her is great because she loves hearing my voice, and I definitely have ample time to pour my heart out to God that way. Hope you and your family have a wonderful 2013.

Leave a Reply

