living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Band-aides and Bibles

1 Comment

DSCF3399

I cut my finger. With my little boy’s knife. Yes, he has never cut his finger and his mother tried it for the first time and cut her finger. He actually apologized to me for me cutting my finger with his knife. Adorable. Since I was so immature in cutting my finger, I have been wearing a Spider-man band-aid. They belong to my 3-year-old and I have one on. It isn’t because I don’t have any other band-aids. I do. It’s just that they were in the glove compartment of my van (don’t ask) and the Spider-man band-aid was easier to get to.

Today, as I was scraping paint drips off my wood floor, I looked down at that band-aid. My finger doesn’t bleed anymore and I could really go without a band-aid. But, I was worried about the cleaner getting in so I wanted to protect it. So, I left it on. And, like my weird mind does, I started thinking about that band-aid and….Bibles. Yes, my Bible.

Do you know that I have never had a Spider-man band-aid on my finger before? Course, I don’t cut my finger with a knife every day either. I wonder how many times we get hurt and we grab our Bibles to stop the bleeding.  I wonder how many times we carry our Bible around as a novelty – something to just kind of flash around and impress someone. Spider-man band-aids are pretty impressive….to immature children at least. I wonder how many times we look at our Bibles as a kind of “covering” that will protect us from the harshness of this world. I wonder how many times I look at that Bible on my shelf, and feel so smug and confident that I know it is there to comfort me when I need it, to go with me when I am out, and to use it at the appropriate times. In reality, I wonder how often it stays in those places and I do not even consume and digest what it says.

Is it bad to use our Bibles as a band-aid? Not necessarily….unless of course you use it as an object instead of something that is alive. Do you know what brings healing to my cut finger? It is the live cells in my body that are working night and day to heal this wound. It is not the band-aid. The band-aid is just something that you see. Our Bibles, whether they are genuine leather, Thompson Chains, red-letter editions, black, red, pink or camouflage, are not what matters. It is the Word of God. The living breathing Word of God that must be active daily in our lives that will heal our sinful souls, purge us of sin, and guide our every step. I am glad that my Bible is not just a “book”. I am glad that it is not a good luck charm. I am glad that even though the cover may get old and the pages fall apart, the Word of God is fresh and new to feed my soul. It is not how many words on a page I read. It is how much I allow those words to change my life and guide my day.

As we start this New Year, I want to remember to keep the Word of God daily active in my life….and not just use it as a band-aid. I want a healed finger. Not a flashy one. Will you join me?

Author: Alicia Reagan

In March of 2009, while expecting my 6th baby, I contracted Transverse Myelitis - a rare illness that left me paralyzed from my ribs down. It has changed my life in many horrible and wonderful ways. I love to talk about it all. The good, the bad and the ugly. It is always raw and real around here as I share my work in advocacy and accessibility, my heart for the spiritual lessons learned, my music that speaks my soul, and my love for my home and family. Welcome.

One thought on “Band-aides and Bibles

  1. This reminds me of the Sara Groves song about the Word of God, “The Word.” Great one if you’ve never listened to it.

Leave a Reply

