living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Living Under Guilt

6 Comments

guilt_carry-man

Ever feel it? This guilt that comes along with being a wife, a mother and a Christian? Blogs, Pinterest and Facebook do not help either. You read a blog of someone describing how to teach your children to pray and you feel guilty that you haven’t done that yet. You see a beautifully organized home on Pinterest and you feel guilty yours isn’t like that. You see a Facebook post from a friend that shares their Norman Rockwell day and you feel like such a failure! Am I alone in this or do you all ever feel it?

We talk about the pressure that society puts on us as women, but I would like to say that most of the pressure we feel in our day-to-day lives are what we put right on ourselves. Maybe technology has brought all of us so much closer together (and I love that!) but it also leads us to much “comparing of ourselves” – which is not okay! I believe the warning of that passage in Scripture is to keep us away from much guilt.

A dear friend once told me something that has been such a help to me. She passed it along from her mother. She said that Satan is a dumper and the Holy Spirit is specific. Where Satan says, “You are a terrible mother for not doing more with your children”, the Holy Spirit nudges and says, “Go ahead and stop those dishes and cuddle that baby.” Satan says, “You will never learn to be a submissive wife” and the Holy Spirit says, “You answered him very hatefully. Maybe you should go apologize.” Satan says, “If you were a better Christian you would quit missing days of not reading your Bible”, where the Holy Spirit would say, “Could you stop Facebook long enough to give me some time?”

This has been SUCH a comfort to me! It has ended a lot of guilt because I know how to identify what is from God or not. If it is not from the Lord, it is out the door of my mind in seconds! I will not give him access there! Guilt that was never given to me by the Lord to carry. God doesn’t want us to feel guilty about everything. That is a very defeated way to live. What He wants is for us to keep an ear open for His soft voice that whispers guidance in our lives – not screams accusations.

So….enjoy your day my sweet friends. Guilt free!Β 

~Alicia

Author: Alicia Reagan

In March of 2009, while expecting my 6th baby, I contracted Transverse Myelitis - a rare illness that left me paralyzed from my ribs down. It has changed my life in many horrible and wonderful ways. I love to talk about it all. The good, the bad and the ugly. It is always raw and real around here as I share my work in advocacy and accessibility, my heart for the spiritual lessons learned, my music that speaks my soul, and my love for my home and family. Welcome.

6 thoughts on “Living Under Guilt

  1. Amen! I love to be reminded that the Lord doesn’t accuse! He gently stirs my heart and mind the way it should go. It is my responsibility to respond and obey. Guilt is a paralyzer – please don’t think I use the word lightly. It always freezes my forward progress of good and worthy things. I love the “dumper” example…..I’ll share it…..thank you! Much love!!

    • I love His reminders too! And, I agree with you about the paralyzing it does in our lives. It absolutely stops all movement in our lives because we live in fear (which is also not of God). Thank you for your comment!! Love you!

  2. much needed. thank you.

  3. I was just thinking about this the other day, and thinking about blogging about it. πŸ™‚ The other day I was obsessing about the house, my piano schedule, how heathenish the kids had been that day. I cannot rest at all when I am like that, and am not enjoyable to be around for my hubby. He said, “You didn’t used to be like this. I think you just developed it over the past few years.” I told him I thought it was because before I had kids I didn’t have so much to do! But then we both realized it’s mostly because of facebook! You usually only see the “perfect” moments in others’ lives. And I put all the pressure on myself to do all the “perfect” things they do. And I can’t! I am learning that God wants me to just be me, not perfect. Thanks for this post! Now I don’t have to write about it! πŸ™‚

  4. I think of the old song by Bill Gaither, “I am a promise, I am a possibility….” I don’t think we ever outgrow that do we? πŸ™‚ I like you just like you are. Please don’t be perfect because I will never be there!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

