living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Darts and Defeat

4 Comments

Defeat is an ugly word. I don’t like it one bit. But, I have to admit, I have been feeling very defeated lately. Maybe it hurts my pride to admit that, but maybe some of you have been having the same kind of feelings lately about certain areas in your life.

For the last few months or so, I feel like trying to have a “successful day” has been a struggle. And by successful day, I mean, keeping up with household chores, tending to all the needs of my family, schooling my children thoroughly and with a cheerful attitude, teaching, correcting, and mothering my children without losing patience, and balancing everything properly so my husband doesn’t get left out of the equation as well.

It seems that every morning we hit the ground running, and right off the bat I’m dealing with attitudes, fights, messy floors, dirty dishes, and the cloud of homeschooling hanging over my head. What happened? We started off the year so well!

Well, I’ll tell you what happened. I haven’t had my armor on. I am ashamed to admit, I have been trying to do everything on my own. Somewhere along the line, I forgot how important and absolutely necessary it is to prepare myself for battle by having my daily walk and talk with the Lord first. Turns out, I can’t do it on my own, nor does the Lord want me to.

Our pastor gave a wonderful and convicting message this morning in church. It was one of those messages that makes you feel like it was given just for you. My weary heart soaked it up. It dawned on me that I have been fighting a losing battle. No wonder I haven’t felt very successful lately! One thing he said really stuck out at me. “When we become a child of God, we become someone the devil hates.” Yikes.

Ephesians 6:12 says, “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” Doubles yikes. I don’t know about you, but I am no match against the rulers of the darkness of this world. My battle is not with my strong-willed son, or with my adorable but mischievous and destructive 2 yr old. My battle is with the devil himself. How could I expect to have a victorious day when I am being “hit” and “wounded” all day long without my armor? No wonder I was feeling exhausted and overwhelmed at the days end. My soul hasn’t been getting enough of the spiritual food that it needs.

Ephesians 6:11 says, “Put on the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.” The “wiles” are the devil’s strategies. They are different for each person, because the devil knows which dart to use, and where to aim. It seems he knew that “school darts” and “attitude darts” worked pretty well on me. As well as “never-ending house chore darts”.

Satan wants to see us fail. Nothing makes him happier than when we stumble and fall. In fact, he probably rejoices and laughs at how easily he can knock us off course. We are only human, we are no match for him. But, as Christians, we have the Lord on our side! We need to remember that we can’t do it on our own, but by the grace of God, we can do it with Him! Luke 1:37 says, “For with God, nothing shall be impossible.” Jeremiah 32:17 says, “Ah Lord GOD! behold, thou hast made the heaven and the earth by thy great power and stretched out arm, and there is nothing too hard for thee.” Ladies, I know who I want on my side! I want the One who created the world, and made each one of us. And He wants me too. He desires fellowship with us and deserves first place in our hearts and lives. I have learned a valuable lesson these last few months, and will no doubt be making some changes. I hope you can appreciate my honesty, and I hope this encourages any of you who have been having similar struggles. You can’t dodge a dart if you’re not prepared for battle. Praise the Lord for not giving up on us, but instead- loving, correcting, and reminding us that we can’t do it alone.

God Bless,

Kelsey

4 thoughts on “Darts and Defeat

  1. Been getting this consistent message from God about arming myself against satan and about spiritual warfare lately. I just read John Eldredge’s most recent blog posts, and they have the same theme. This is one of those times when I acknowledge that God must be putting it in front of me repeatedly for a reason. Thanks for adding to the truth He’s giving me.

  2. Thank you for sharing your heart! God knew I needed to read this!

  3. I have definitely been going through the same struggles and get discouraged easily it seems. Thank you for the encouragement, Kelsey!

  4. Kelsey, I have been through this same struggle lately. And I think all Christians, if they are honest, would admit to having seasons where their devotional lives fell by the wayside. I have come to treasure early mornings with the Lord, but they don’t happen every day. It’s the MOST important thing to “accomplish” in a day, so of course it’s the easiest to cast off. Thank you for being so transparent here, I’m sure this post will encourage a lot of people! Btw, coffee helps numb the dart strikes! 😉

Leave a Reply

