living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Listening to My Son’s Heart

Leave a comment

Mediumphoto (2) 

One of the biggest challenges I face is to make sure I am not just going through the daily motions of being a mom (cooking, cleaning, ironing, shovelling messes), but more importantly nurturing and mothering the hearts of my boys. It is so easy for me to spend my day correcting, instructing, teaching, and prodding and not really taking the time actually “listen” to my child.

 The Lord has blessed us with two very precious boys (ages 7 and 3) and they are the delights of my life! They have very different personalities, but need the same amount of love and affirmation. I am learning that the older and more independent my children become, the more I need to affirm my love verbally. Jackson Riley, my oldest has become quite the writer and loves to write stories and also draw the illustrations. In my efforts to keep and organize many of his stories and drawings I came up with the idea for Jackson and I to journal to each other. I write in a journal to him and place it under his pillow at night and then he responds with a note, thoughts about his day, a drawing, or anything else he wants to write to me.

 This year for Valentine’s Day, I ordered a jounal online that has his picture on the front and I don’t think I have seen him more excited in quite a while! This will not only be something fun for us to do now, but I can’t wait to show them all to him when he is 18. 🙂

Violin

 I’m sure many of you are like me – your days are FULL of many good things….necessary things, but are the most important things at the top of our list?

Blessings,
Leah

quote

Leave a Reply

