living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

This One’s A “Doozie”

Leave a comment

livingonpbjmay

WARNING: THE FOLLOWING POST IS NOT CONDUCIVE TO ANY SPRING/SUMMER DIET. IF THIS IS A PROBLEM FOR YOU, STOP READING NOW!

It is birthday time in this house. There are four of us and our birthdays fall in April, May, June and July. Then, we suffer through eight months of anticipation for next year’s celebrations. Today was Daddy’s birthday. We have had lots of fun giving him gifts and cards (although, I learned a valuable lesson…never tell a two year old a secret…or anything thing, for that matter, that involves birthday planning) and celebrating another year in Daddy’s life.

Now, Daddy isn’t one for traditional cakes or even cupcakes. His weakness lies in chocolate chip cookies…especially the cookie sandwiches filled with icing from a popular cookie company! 🙂 This happened to be his birthday dessert request this year. So, doing what any good wife would do…I got on Pinterest and bam, 30 different recipes within my grasp. Now, I am all about Pinterest, but when it comes to recipes or projects, I want SIMPLE…I mean like 3 steps or less, simple. I decided to cut corners and  buy 2 packs of the jumbo break and bake cookies, then just make the icing from scratch. BEST DECISION OF THE DAY!!! They were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! This is the icing recipe that I used. I thought I would share it with you so that you could make these for your next birthday bash.

COOKIE ICING:

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 5 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/3 cup water
  • food coloring (optional) (ours were bright orange :))

In the bowl of a mixer, combine shortening and powdered sugar on low speed until just combined.  Add water and vanilla extract, and beat on high for about 2 minutes, until light and fluffy.  Pipe or spread frosting on the flat side of a cookie and top with another.

This would be a huge hit for a child’s birthday party. I would just buy the regular sized cookies to make the recipe go farther. Also, I added sprinkles to Lauren’s and she LOVED it! 🙂

Love,

Sarah

living on pbjmay2

Leave a Reply

