living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Rewards are Good for Mommies Too!

Leave a comment

Rewards - gummy bearsThe cheery little bears called out to me in all their bright colors, “We are on sale! We are sweet rewards for little people who do their chores and schoolwork without a fuss. We would look so cute in a glass jar!” I listened as I stood in line at the barrel watching these bears jump into bags of other customers.  I debated within about the usual – a sugar reward?  Is this a necessity? Is it worth the sale price?” I  finally won the debate with myself and scooped up a reasonable amount to share with my large family.

They were a “hit” reward from the preschool to elementary to junior high to high school to adults! Yes, I – the MOM – enjoyed a few (they are low-fat and from the health food store). =)

As a mother rewarding my children in a very small way – a certain number of gummy bears- I was rewarded. I saw their accomplishment and their delight in my reward. Their view of the “prize” motivated them to action. Just a few gummy bears brightened every family member’s day. Their accomplishments encouraged themselves in their work.

The Bible is full of bright rewards in the form of promises. Hebrews 11:6 states, ” But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.”  We ladies may not “see” bright and cheery rewards right now, but in faith, we believe that God will reward those who diligently seek Him. Just as I rewarded my children for their diligence in schoolwork, God promises to reward me for seeking Him diligently – in the secret place – searching for the beautiful treasure of His favor.

Yes, rewards are good for mommies too!   ♥ Jeri Lynn

_____________________________________________________

[We would enjoy hearing some of your ideas of simple rewards that you use in your home.]

Leave a Reply

