living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Withhold not Good

Leave a comment

“Withhold not good from them to whom it is due, When it is in the power of thine hand to do it.” Proverbs 3:27

This verse has changed my attitude this week. Immediately after reading this verse I was convicted. How often do I pretend I don’t see a need, act too busy, make excuses, or throw out empty words of sympathy to those who are hurting?  Other times I’m too selfish of my time, abilities, or finances. To me this verse was a slam in my face and a prick in my heart. If I turn a blind eye, or close my heart to helping others I am disobeying God. According to this verse, if God has given you the ability to fulfill an emotional, spiritual, or financial need then we need to freely GIVE of ourselves!

With God’s help, my husband and I were able to help several people this week with a variety of needs – and it was incredible, God blessed ME! I went to the grocery store to purchase a gift card for a family in need and bumped into someone from my church. I am not very close to this individual, but we had a nice chat and then she asked me, “Are you ready to check out?” I smiled and said, “Oh…I’m about half way done with my shopping.” Just as I was about to push my cart and keep going she handing me $100! She insisted on me taking this money and said she found so much joy in helping others. I knew in my heart this was no accident, because to be honest, I wasn’t sure how I was going to purchase the gift card but I felt very impressed that the Lord wanted me to help a family. What a great example of how God works in others and always takes care of our needs.  This testimony has encouraged me to do more and trust in God completely!

Leave a Reply

