living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

A Mother’s Prayer

5 Comments

We know there is power in prayer, but sadly many of us fail to pray. We get busy. We are tired. We forget.  Lately the Lord has convicted me of my lack of prayer, specifically for my son. I realize this is a broad topic and much can be said on the matter of praying for your children. I am not an expert and fail so often, but I am doing my best each day to strengthen my prayers for my son. I thought I would share a few ways that have helped me pray for Noah and teach him to pray.

  • I return to Noah’s room after he is asleep at night and kneel next to his bed in prayer. When I hear his soft breathing and feel his smooth skin it moves my heart to pray hard for his God-given life.  I look forward to this sweet time each day. Once I started praying for him in a deeper way I noticed it was changing my heart. I was more patient and consistent with him throughout the day. My motivation for disciplining him was for the right reasons.  My heart was prepared to be mother who could point him to Jesus Christ. Some nights I’m next to his bed for a long time, other nights it’s just for a few moments, but it’s a special time of surrendering him to God each day and praying for his future. I hope one day he will remember his mother’s prayers.
  • My son is only one year old, but I think it’s a great idea to claim a Bible verse for your child each year.  Praying scripture is always good, but having a specific verse to pray each day for them is great. I like the verse I Samuel 12:24 “Only fear the LORD, and serve him in truth with all your heart; for consider how great things he hath done for you.”

c84db97d3164f2583a42eef3535deb6f  (Trace your child’s hand, choose a verse or a some special requests to pray for them throughout the year.)

  • I am in the process of making Noah his own prayer book. Right now he prays, “Dear Jesus, Amen.” I cried the first time I heard him pray – what a blessing! Since he can identify his family and friends in pictures perhaps a prayer journal will help him say a few names in his prayers. Here is a link for an idea how to make a children’s prayer journal, http://ashleyannphotography.com/blog/2009/03/03/diy-kids-prayer-journal/.

I want to be a good example of a praying woman for my son. Time spent in prayer is never wasted, and let’s remember there is power in prayer! Abraham Lincoln said, “I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life.”

Please leave a comment and let me know how YOU pray for your children or how you teach them to pray.

5 thoughts on “A Mother’s Prayer

  1. This is beautiful! I, too, pray for my children after they have fallen asleep only I do so from my own bed 🙂 I really like the idea of kneeling beside them while they sleep! We pray with them every night before they go to sleep, as well. Then throughout the day I try to pray with each of them individually often confessing sin and asking for God’s help in specific areas. Thank you for this reminder – I needed it as I have been slacking in this area!

  2. I also needed this, Anna!

    I have a journal and a page in it for each child. Right now, I just have a few small things under each name – salvation, future spouse, but also some individual character issues with each child.

    I really love the idea of praying Scripture over them (I just read a book about it!) I have a Scripture passage I often pray for my hubby but not my children. So I really want to work on that soon. 🙂

  3. This was a blessing to this new Momma. Thanks

  4. Thank you for sharing Anna! These are some great ideas! With in the last year, Jeremy and I have been very intentional about praying with Mason as well. One of us will always do a bedtime prayer with him (usually whoever puts him to bed that night). Mason will sometimes copy what we say as we pray and he is always excited about getting to say “Amen!” One thing Jeremy and I are consistent with is inconsistency; we do not want to teach Mason that prayer is just the same bedtime rhyme every night. We always try to pray genuinely! We mention things that happened in that day and thank God for what blessings we received.

    The great part of teaching Mason how to pray is that it has really challenged me to strengthen my prayer life as well. I love the idea of the prayer journal to teach little kids how to pray on their own. Thank you for your thoughts and ideas, they are always a blessing.

    Jessica

  5. Love reading your writings I knew you when you were a girl in JHb We are now in Cape Town in Ministry. What a blessing to be ministered to by the next generation

Leave a Reply

