living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Ripe Bananas

Leave a comment

ripe bananas collageWe’ve heard the admonition over and over: “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade!”  Well, here in the same color scheme, we have a similar situation.  “When life gives you ripe bananas, make banana smoothies!”

Bananas are a favorite fruit at our house, especially, for the athletes. I like them as a mother because they are sooooo easy!  When bananas get the brown spots on them, they are not as “a- peeling” as the solid yellow fresh ones. Yes, you can make banana bread, but only if it is a family favorite because “we ain’t got time for that ” (in the language of my teen sons when they are in comical modes).  Yet, we do have time for Berry Banana Smoothies… or better yet, Chocolate Banana Smoothies!

Simply peel, slice, bag, and freeze. No brown bananas. No waste. No banana bread (though that would be a delicious possibility).

This little saying reminds me of how God works in our lives. I often wonder why my seemingly good desires and dreams go unfulfilled until they are no longer fresh.  Yet, God may be “freezing” those hopes for a later time – the right time!  His timing is always better than mine, as are His ways.  Sometimes, I need to be prepared (ripened) for an opportunity He has waiting ahead for me. Sometimes, I know the holding (freezing) time is that I may know Him more deeply.  Romans 8:28 is a wonderful promise to hold to in these times.

Be encouraged if you are like me in thinking a perfect banana is fresh- almost ripe – with no signs of aging. Yet, remember ripe banana smoothies are quite tasty and worth the wait!

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” -Isaiah 55:8-9

From my ♥,  Jeri Lynn

Leave a Reply

