living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Quiet Books

2 Comments

quiet book

I wanted to share with you this month a gift that you could start working on to have special for your child at Christmas. (Yes, I’m already trying to think of Christmas. It always seems to sneak up on me!) It is what most people call a “Quiet Book”.

My husband has one that he has had since he was little. His aunt made it special for him. Well, he pulled his tub of “Childhood Keepsakes” up from the basement and opened it to share with the kids what he played with as a child. Of course, Carson was about all the neat cars he had. But inside that tub was this Quiet Book. The kids LOVED looking at and playing with all the hands-on pages. So I had an idea!

I would love for my children to have a special memory keepsake when they grow up to show to their children. I love homemade gifts. All the love and time that goes into them is priceless. I know that they would love playing with them. I would only want to pull them out on special occasions (such as doctor’s office appointment, long car trips, etc.) so they will really enjoy them each time they get to play with them and not get tired of them.

Now I am not a sewing expert by any means. I don’t even own a sewing machine (I hope to change that soon). Some quiet book pages are more involved than others so you can pick and choose which pages you want to put in their book. My son is 2 1/2 so his will be less involved but as he gets older it would be fun to make another one for him that would be age appropriate. My daughter is 6 and I know she would love having one as well. Hers will just be geared to fit her age as well. Although I don’t have a sewing machine, I DO have a sister-in-law who has one and I am hoping she will be willing to help me out with a few pages! 🙂

There are MANY ideas on Pinterest and on the Wed search under Images for Quiet Books.

So I just wanted to share this cute idea with you early enough to where you may have the time to make your little one a Quiet Book for Christmas morning if you would like. I hope I can get mine done. It may be Christmas 2014 but I WILL get one made! 🙂

Happy Memory Making!

Love,
Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Quiet Books

  1. I’ve just found your blog and have been enjoying the articles you’ve recently written. This one came up on my FB newsfeed and I love this idea. I’ve been making quiet books since last Christmas. I’ve started a “Canadian History” one for my son (and, in the future, my daughter) and I’m working on some Bible ones. I want to have a page or more on each Bible story for them. I have a few pages up on my blog already (quietworkings.com) but I need to get pictures of my Bible ones to post. I like the idea of them being a “keepsake” for their children to play with as well. Thanks for the post!

    • Hi Amanda! So glad you found our blog and have been enjoying our posts! I love how you are doing a “Canadian history” one for your son. What a neat idea! I really like the idea of some Bible pages. I don’t think I’ve seen any of these. I will definitely head over to your blog and check out your pages. Thank you for sharing. I think that that would be something I would like to include as well. I will look to you for inspiration and ideas! 🙂 My daughter’s favorite Bible story is of Esther. Hope you have a beautiful day!!!

Leave a Reply

