living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Mama’s prayers and future spouses…

Leave a comment

Amazing Grace

I’ll never forget the day I met the sweet lady who would one day become my Mother in law. After I got saved, she gave me my first Bible and she truly took me under her wing as family. She helped me and undoubtedly prayed for me as I was a Baby Christian.

Years later, she told me something that really spoke to my heart. She told me that she had been praying for me for a very long time. She would pray with Rick every night that God would give him a good Christian wife.

I’ve since joked with her and told her “I’m sorry God did not answer your prayer”… but she always assures me that He did. =)

Rick has told me on many occasions that he would hear his Mom praying outside his bedroom when he was growing up. She would pray late into the night. As a teenager even, he told me he could see her shadow underneath his door as she was on her knees, always praying.

I’ve always admired this about my precious Mother in law, Vicky, who is also my Pastor’s wife. She is a true prayer warrior. If I need prayers to be prayed on mine or someone else’s behalf, I always go to her. Oh how precious are the prayers of a mother!

After Rick and I got married and I became a Mother myself, I remember praying for my children. I would think about who they would become and what they would do with their little lives… I tell Rick often how much it worries me one day that I will send my precious babies out into this world and they will be on their own…I just pray that the guidance, testimony and faith we displayed is and will be enough that they love and serve God all their lives.

But the best start we can give them is this….

~Pray for them.

~Ask God to save them.

~Be Faithful to God and to Church.

~Love Each other.

~Read God’s word together.

~Ask God to guide that His will be done in our lives.

And then there’s one that we added to our list about 2 1/2 years ago…

~Pray for their spouses.

Now you may think this seems silly, but I assure you it’s not!

I’ll never forget shortly after we lost our daughter and  found out we were having a 3rd son; I was standing in the kitchen of our Church speaking to a sweet lady to attends there.

She was asking me how I felt about having another boy and we were talking about the other two. She told me that as soon as she heard it was another boy, she just knew that God had BIG plans. It blessed my heart.

Then she told me something that really made me think!! She told me that she was glad that these three boys would be growing up in our home and in Church. She told me that one day, these three little boys would be men and would marry some young ladies.

I wasn’t just raising three little boys,.. I was raising three Husbands!

She told me that we should pray now… and ask God to give them good Godly wives. As she told me she is praying for her daughter to marry a good, Godly Husband. But she reminded me that she does not know who is raising up her daughter’s Husband. She only knows she is praying for him.

It really made me think!

Wow, I really have a job to do!! I’m raising someone’s Husband.. someone’s father one day.

I feel so honored that God would choose me (choose us) to do so… What a blessing!

It made me remember the words of my Mother in law, and it made me start praying!!!

My boys, Noah, Elijah and Jonah were only 5,3 and (on the way) at the time, but we started praying.

Every night after we finish devotions, I now listen to my 8 and 5 year olds pray for their future wives. I hear their little voices asking God to make them good, Godly Husbands and that He will give them good, Godly wives.

This melts my heart.

Sure I’m nowhere near ready to think about my sweet boys getting married and leaving me… but one day when they do, I want them to marry great young ladies who love the Lord and them with all their hearts.

And maybe one day, I’ll be able to tell my daughter in law’s… We’ve been praying for you all their lives. ❤

What a blessing that will be!

Our Children’s future is at stake, let’s pray hard!!

Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

Much love and prayers to you,

Natalie Ross

Leave a Reply

