living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

To Encourage Homeschooling Moms……

Leave a comment

It has always been my passion…(my husband’s and mine) to homeschool/Christain school. We’ve done both. After several years in a Christian school, we did decide to homeschool. Our youngest was around 7.

As it was our passion….my husband and I still tell people…it’s something you don’t need to pray about. You just do it because you’re Christians. Just like you don’t pray about whether to go to church or not on Sunday morning, or you don’t pray about whether or not to read your Bible today. Yes, it’s that strong for us.

So, first of all, I hope if you haven’t made that decision, you will.

Then after the decision is made….stick with it and do your best! You WILL experience opposition in one way or another. Decide that because it’s God’s will, you will not waver.

So now, you have a HUGE responsibility.

In my opinion, when parents make this decision, it should become a priority in the home. It’s so easy to just go have fun, or take on other obligations, but when you take on this responsibility of educating your children….it should come first for a few hours each day.

I know things come up which are out of your control…sickness, etc. But what I mean is, just don’t be slothful. I know of an instance years ago….a family was homeschooling, and decided for whatever reason, to put their children in public school. They were VERY MUCH behind in their grade level, and I’m sure it was embarrassing to the kids. And this is one way that homeschooling gets a bad name.

That youngest child of mine who was 7 when we began homeschooling is now almost 30 and homeschooling a 5 year old. Another daughter has 6 boys, 4 of whom are school age, homeschooling also. And I know when my son and his wife have children, they will homeschool also. WHAT A BLESSING THAT IS TO THEIR DAD AND ME!

I know it isn’t easy! I watch my daughters struggle…sometimes feeling like they’re failing, but they have decided public school isn’t a option.They have toddlers…infants…..the laundry pile gets higher and higher….they don’t feel like having school today…..the phone is ringing….  So I encourage them….I encourage you….YOU’RE DOING THE RIGHT THING AND GOD WILL BLESS!

Organization helps. Maybe pick up toys and such the night before…make sure the dishes are done. Put in a load of laundry. In the morning, get breakfast cleaned up and put in another load of laundry. Then concentrate on school for the next few hours.

So, just know, this lady’s in your “corner”. I hope keeping your children in a Christian environment will be your passion. You’ll never regret it, BUT you may regret it if you don’t. ( And our kids are thankful they never went to public school.)

And we want to do our best for the Lord in every area of our lives, don’t we? And we encourage our kids to do their best. So shouldn’t we do our best here too?

…..but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. Eph. 6:4

And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord…..Col. 3:23

Leave a Reply

