living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

“When Are We Going To Be There?”

Leave a comment

I’d like to share this story and  video of my little ones with the hope that it will help many of you with your holiday travels.  If your children are anything like mine, they love to ask questions similar to these:  “Mom, when are we going to be there?”  “Mom, are we there yet?”  “Mom, how much longer until we get there?”

While these questions are innocent enough, they can get a little tiring on a 20-minute ride to the grocery store.  And they get downright exhausting when you’re going over the river and through the woods to Grandmother’s house!

One day, while my six-year-old daughter and I were driving to a destination about five minutes away, I was feeling a little annoyed after the fourth time she asked me, “Mom, when are we going to be there?”  In desperation, I began singing the little song you will hear on the video.

When I finished, she said, “Did you write that song?”

“Yes, I did,” I replied.

“I hate it!” she said.  “It’s VERY annoying.”

“I know,” I said with a smile.  “So is that question.  From now on, when you ask me that question, I’m going to sing you that song.”

It has become quite the family joke.  It has also drastically cut down on the number of times I hear that question in the car!

From a songwriter’s point of view, I freely admit that this is without a doubt the worst song I have ever written.  But from a mom’s point of view, it is music to my ears, and hopefully, it will be to yours too!  Feel free to use it to help your own children curb their questions, but be warned, it won’t get you any rave reviews.

Happy traveling!

~Niki

Author: Niki Lott

Christian, wife, mom, homemaker, daughter, sister, wife, pianist, writer...

Leave a Reply

