living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Got Patience?

Leave a comment

Image Being patient is something I’m not very good at.  The Lord has recently been teaching me the art of being patient!  We live in a such a fast-paced society.  We want everything fast – fast food, fast internet, etc.  I don’t know about you, but if I’m at Kroger and there are three people in front of me, I expect them to open up another lane!  Horrible, Isn’t it?  This is just a small example, but we are tempted to be impatient in so many areas of life.

A good definition of patience is “the capacity for calmly enduring pain or trying situations.”  The Bible actually has a lot to say about patience.  I have been meditating on several verses on the subject lately and I thought I would share what I have learned.  I hope to be an encouragement to those who might be “patiently waiting on the Lord.” I know many people who are going through difficult circumstances right now.  As I write this, I am patiently waiting to find out when my dad is having heart surgery.  I have also been trying to wait patiently for the Lord’s timing on a big move our family is making.  I know many of you are also patiently waiting.  Here are a few things we need to be patient in:

  • Patient in Prayer –  Sometimes we might be tempted to stop praying.  We might feel like God isn’t answering. Romans 12 is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible and verse 12 says “Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer.”  We need to be patient and continue praying.  God will answer in His perfect way and time.  A friend once told me, “God is seldom early, but He is never late.”  I have found that to be so true!  God’s timing is always perfect.  As the verse says, we need to rejoice in our hope in Him and be patient in tribulation.  He receives glory when we keep trusting Him and when we keep praying!  I know of a lady who prayed for 25 years for her dad to be saved.  She never quit and her father trusted Christ before he died.  She told me “I’m so glad I didn’t stop praying.” 
  • Patient in Parenting –  Parenting involves a lot of patience!  Proverbs 22:6 says  “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”  We may not see the “fruit’ we would like to see in our children when we think we should.  We need to keep being patient with them.  I always remind myself of how patient God is with me.  It is a challenge to show that same kind of patience to my children.  May God help us to be “patient parents”.  I remember trying to teach my son how to read.  I thought that I was going to loose my mind!  We kept it up and now he is an excellent reader.  Mom – keep on going, you will eventually see the fruit!
  • Patient in Problems Romans 5:3-5 says “And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; and patience, experience; and experience, hope: and hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.”   Who likes to have problems?  I’m sure none of us do, but these verses tell us to glory in tribulations!  That almost seems impossible!  We really can’t do that without the Holy Spirit.  We need to recognize that God allows problems in our life to help draw us closer to Him.
  • Patient with People –  I Thessalonians 5:14 says  “Now we exhort you, brethren, warn them that are unruly, comfort the feebleminded, support the weak, be patient toward all men.”  The Bible here tells us to be patient to all people.  I believe that we can show Christ by being patient with people.  So often, we are easily annoyed by people.  Perhaps by people we don’t even know.  We can ruin our testimony by not being patient.  I have seen people blow their car horn at the person in front of them because they didn’t move the second the light turned green!  God help us to be patient with all people.  That would include our spouse, too!

May God Bless you during this Holiday Season.  The Holiday Season is really a time we can practice being patient.  May we not get too caught up in the hustle and bustle of the season!  Patience really is a virtue:)

Dema Johnson

Leave a Reply

