living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Bless…..ME?

Leave a comment

My, the Lord has been good to us all, hasn’t He? He has blessed me SO much I never thought much about ASKING Him to bless me. I did feel guilty in doing so…until.

I came across this verse in my devotions several months ago, and now I think on it almost daily.

And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, Oh that thou wouldest bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that thine hand might be with me, and that thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me! And God granted him that which he requested. 1 Chronicles 4:10

I pray daily that the Lord would bless my family…and others. And I pray that God would keep His hedge about my family.

Now, I DO ask the Lord to bless ME…still feeling a little guilty and selfish.

But there’s more in this verse. Enlarge my coast. We are to desire to grow and be rooted and grounded in the Word and to mature.

That thy hand might be with me. We should desire the power of God on our lives that we might be a good testimony for Him.

That thou wouldest keep me from evil. O my! The devil is constantly trying to destroy and defeat us!

The last part of the verse says…And God granted him that which he requested. What a tremendous blessing when God answers prayers!

This verse has become such a pattern to me these past months. I know I’ve read it many several times, but isn’t it great when a verse just “jumps out” at you….and you know the Lord is speaking…especially to YOU?

So lets pray together that we would grow and mature…and that can only come through the Word and prayer. Lets live such that God’s power is evident in our lives. Lets ask His protection from the wiles of the devil. And here, we may need to be more responsible in areas of our lives. And DO ask Him to bless you.

And God granted….

Leave a Reply

