living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Why I Love the New Year!

1 Comment

223357_439634209416777_396786100_n

I love a New Year! I can hardly believe that it is six weeks into 2014!  A New Year is like a clean, blank canvas just waiting to be written upon.  It is a time to take a deep breath with moments of reflection and then to begin again.  It is a most wonderful opportunity given to us from the Lord!  We all are desirous to live godly lives. Ones that really count.  A brand New Year is a great time of reevaluation of all that we do and some new goals as well.  Time goes so very quickly!  We all comment on time in our daily conversations: “how time flies” or “my how the children have grown”.

There is a line of a song that often comes to me in when I reflect upon time. The song says “I don’t want to be ashamed when the Savior calls my name!”  It calls me to think about how fast life is ticking away and how truly we only have this day.  Each day should count for Him and all eternity.  So, what to do in a brand new year or where to start? These points are certainly nothing new but are hopefully a reminder of where we can begin again.

1. It is so important to continually be aware of His presence with us. Whether we are at home, work, or out and about. It is totally amazing that the Great God, our Creator and loving Savior is with us every minute of every day!  I am sure it can change our perspective of we are aware that He is with us. It will encourage us, make us more careful and is a fact to share with our children daily.

2.Pray, pray, pray more!  The scripture tells us to pray without ceasing. An attitude of taking our needs and our praise to the Lord  is so important. I once heard a quote: “little prayer, little power, more prayer, more prayer, and much prayer much power”!

3. Read and meditate on His Word daily. How else can we know what to do if we are not still before Him to listen to His instructions?

4.  Love and love more! Love God, your husband, your children, your church family and your pastor, and so importantly the unsaved around you every day. I John 4:7  “Beloved, let us love one another”.

5. Encourage, encourage and encourage some more! To encourage means to put the heart in someone. Of course to discourage means to take the heart out of a person. we all have experienced both. Our desire should be to encourage as many people as we can every day! In I Corinthians, Paul mentions three men who “refreshed” him.  I so want to be one of those kinds of believers!

Let us begin this brand New Year living by His grace and for His glory!

P.S. If you are interested my husband, Mark, also has a blog in which he writes about various spiritual topics including a series of five posts on “Life in the Valley.” Here is the link: http://www.markjemilbooth.com

 

One thought on “Why I Love the New Year!

  1. Thank you so much for these great reminders, Mrs Sharon! I specifically love #5. That is one of my goals this year – to encourage others 🙂

Leave a Reply

