living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Dormant Tools

Leave a comment

My husband has many tools in his workshop/garage. There are tools to fix anything on a vehicle. There are tools with which to work in the garden and other outside jobs. There are several tools for woodworking….to use for cutting boards into beautiful pieces of furniture..tools to smooth those pieces….tools to make designs on those pieces….

But, you know, none of those tools will accomplish a thing if they just lie there…not being “put” to use.

I liken that to PRAYER. What a “tool”!

With prayer, we are able to talk to the Almighty God! What a privilege…and an honor!

Not only a privilege and honor, but a COMMAND. 1 Thess. 5:17 says to pray without ceasing.

For the afflicted (James 5:13)

To pray One for another. (James 5:16) …and on and on.

I have been guilty many times of fretting over things, trying to “fix” things myself, trying to figure out all the “whys”, when, instead of using PRAYER to start with, I have used it as a “last resort”. “O, yes! Why didn’t I pray about that!”

Our Lord will never slumber or sleep, so we can go to Him at ANY given time with ANY problem or need.

And He DOES answer!

And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us. 1 John 5:1

It may not always be “now”, or “yes”, but He knows best! And my heart is overwhelmed with His love for me and that He cares enough to answer MY prayers. I see Him do it over and over and over, and that encourages me to “talk” to Him more, desire Him more in my life!

NOTHING is too big for Him! And also nothing is too small or unimportant….what a blessing!

Use this precious “tool”!

Leave a Reply

