living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

How to Be Encouraged in a Discouraging World

Leave a comment

It’s everywhere, isn’t it? Such sadness. Such madness. Such craziness. Disappointment. Hurt. The unthinkable. The unbelievable. Pain. Heartache. Suffering. Depression. Stress.

Certainly, we live in a sin-cursed world. But lest I cause you DISCOURAGEMENT with my words, dear reader, let me just say PRAISE THE LORD! I’m still thankful I live in America! Aren’t we SO blessed!

I truly have much to be thankful for. I have a husband and family who love the Lord…seeing my grandchildren being raised in good churches. We have abundant food and clothes…nice vehicles…good health.

But, we all deal with discouragement from time to time. We are all appalled at what we see on the news. So how can we be encouraged?

The Bible says David encouraged himself in the Lord. And this is how we “find” the Lord. In His Word.

If you’re not faithful to read something in the Bible every day, I encourage you to.

I will bless the Lord, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me in the night seasons. Psalm 16:7

And I love my church…and I know you love going to church, but do you find it easy to just stay home once in a while? I encourage you to be FAITHFUL. We all need to be “preached to”. We need to be fed…encouraged by the Word from our Pastor.

As our minds are sometimes bombarded with distresses….when we are consumed with our troubles…and the troubles of others….

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. Phil. 4:8

Some other things I enjoy doing….and not everyone is able to do these sometimes, but I LOVE walking. And who doesn’t love shopping? Sometimes I just like to go and “look”, not spending any money, but just get out for awhile. I know many of you have little ones. Maybe hubby or a friend could watch them for an hour or two.

Just to get a breath of fresh air….to get alone to pray. These can be helpful when feeling overwhelmed.

And we can receive much help from our spouses and family and friends, but ultimately, our greatest help will come from the Lord.

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him. Psalm 28:7

Isn’t God good!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

