living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

The Person in the Front Seat

Leave a comment

I have one little worrier in my pack of small children. They can all be emotional and upset at times. But I have one who worries, and worries! If we are headed to storytime at the library, he starts worrying. “Can I stay with you?” “I want to sit right beside you!” “Do I have to do the craft?” … all in a super-whiny voice.

I recently drove 5 hours with all 4 kids (I still feel proud and grown up!) to stay with my mom for a few days. At their church one evening, they had a youth night for children of all ages. My oldest, non-worrying son wanted to go, so we went. On the way there, the little worrier in the back seat kept asking the Mom in the front seat worry-type questions about the evening.

“Can I stay with you the whole time?” “Do I have to play games?” “Will you be in the same room with me?”… all in a super-whiny voice.

I gently tried to reassure him that it would be fun, I would be right with him, and he would love playing the games. But he just kept on, and on.

I finally said, “I am bigger than you, and I know what this evening is going to be like. You will be fine. You need to trust me! I have it all figured out, so stop worrying!”

Then he fell asleep.

Immediately as I said those words, the Lord pointed that little finger right back at me. How many times have I worried about a situation beyond my control? How many times have I tried to ask or tell God what I need Him to do? How many times have I asked for His reassurance, although He has promised His presence over, and over again?!

It was like Jesus said to me, from the front seat, “I am bigger than you, and I know what your life is going to be like. You will be fine. You need to trust me! I have it all figured out!”

Just remember, dear moms, that the Lord is bigger than we are, and He has it all figured out.

❤ Joy

Leave a Reply

