living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Where’s Our Focus?

Leave a comment

A few of my favorite verses from Psalm 61…and some simple thoughts.

1. Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer.

I am so unworthy….for the One and Only Great and Mighty God to hear and answer even one of my prayers, yet He is so faithful! He DOES hear us…cares enough about us to “attend” to our cries.

2. From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

Has your heart ever been overwhelmed? Surely it has. And He’s always there for us. But, if we’re not careful we may be guilty of only calling upon Him WHEN our heart is overwhelmed….and not faithfully as we should. I’m so thankful He can calm….and ease an overwhelmed heart.

3. For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy.

He surely has been faithful to me! I’ve faced many storms in my life….my family has faced many storms….trying, hurtful times..but we can say…God is good! He HAS kept us…and continues to bless and strengthen.

4. I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah.

I intend to be faithful….faithful to attend His house….faithful to read His Word and pray. I plan to trust Him…..though  I realize my weakness and my potential to fail. I DO fail….daily.

But He’s SO worthy of our efforts for Him. And we…I…give Him so little time sometimes.

I recently heard someone say….How much do we really love the Lord? Do you ever sit in church and as the Pastor is preaching your mind wanders to…where you’re going to eat? What TV show you’re going to watch as soon as you get home? What you’re going to do tomorrow…what you’re going to wear? What’s the score of the ball game? What time is it getting to be?

O I have been guilty.

But I believe we should be SO in love with Him….SO focused on worshipping Him….SO full of Him…that we could never deprive Him of  time that’s meant for Him. It’s easy to call on HIM…but HE’S worthy of OUR attention and devotion.  And may He ever be on our minds through our day…with praise and prayer on our lips….in our hearts.

Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose MIND IS STAYED ON THEE: because he trusteth in thee. Isaiah 26:3

We can have all we want of Him. How much do we want? What controls our mind….our thoughts…our hearts?

I certainly need/desire to be closer….fuller of Him.

Leave a Reply

