living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Confessions of a Mommy Blogger

Leave a comment

The other day in our mom’s group, one of the moms, (just for fun) wrote a status called “Confessions.” One mom mentioned she had a pile of clean laundry on her couch for over two weeks, while another confessed her struggles to clean and yet another admitted her dislike of and struggle in the schooling of her child.

The replies went on and on! It made me feel good just reading them all. It was oddly encouraging to know that all of us moms struggle. It could appear that I, as a blogger, have it all together. You might think that I’m organized, creative, a super mom and spiritually mature. You might be very wrong!

Paul said it best when he said “This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.” – I Timothy 1:15

I feel like this verse pretty much sums up my life. I am the chief sinner.  I struggle with my feelings, my responses, my mouth. Ihave too many battles that I need to/ would love to win!

Organized?  BWAHAHAHAHA!  Ok, sorry, I had to have a good laugh there. You should ask my mom. Girl, I am a mess! I “try” to be organized to keep sane. I have to prepare on Friday, for Sundays. I literally write out times to play with my kids and times to clean the house so I  make sure I can get it all done. Even with the lists & schedules, my life is crazy!

Super mom? …more like sinking mom. . 🙂

Ladies, moms, friends, please know I am just like you. We, mommy bloggers, are just like you. We blog because we are learning and we are so excited about our journey that we want to share it with you.

 Screenshot 2015-03-12 21.10.00 (2)

I hope that you will see through this screen to a humble wife and mother whose laundry is not done, whose child’s room has the smell of potty-training, whose dinner did NOT turn out once again, whose son had 3 meltdowns at church tonight and who finally was able to take a shower at 4:30 today.

I learn and I teach what I learn. More times then not, my teaching comes from studying either the Bible or reading someone else’s life/blog.  So it’s not original with me and, I suspect, it’s not always original with them.

We mommies all have our confessions. We bloggers are just like you. We are not perfect, just sharing our life with you.

Some closing thoughts–

Do you know what? I only need to be awesome to God and my family. YES MA’AM.

The Bible gives me some very simple principles concerning my family.   “… to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children” – Titus 2:4

I just have to love my husband and love my children. That may look different in your life than it does in mine. Different families, different husbands and different children have different love languages.

Find out what makes your family members feel loved.   Ask each individual. Then do what it takes to make them feel loved. That may mean that your laundry gets left for a week, or that you don’t get to clean out your frig. It may mean that your child gets some cuddle action while he is watching Veggie Tales or it may mean that you need to put ___________ on hold so that _______________ can be carried out.  (Fill in the blanks.)

Each of our lives are going to look different. We are all going to have rough days and we are all going to have amazing days. So, the next time your friend posts a message about her amazing day, be happy for her, learn from her life lessons and just know that her laundry probably needs to be put away and her dinner might be burning on the stove.

Rejoicing,

Joy T

Leave a Reply

