living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Easter Truth Hunt

Leave a comment

I have struggled over how to celebrate Easter.

Personally I don’t like the idea of bunnies and eggs overshadowing the beautiful story of the cross. I feel, that Easter should be a day we celebrate not only the cross but His glorious resurrection.  If it were not for Jesus’ triumph over death, we would have NO hope.

However, I want to enjoy time with my family and celebrate with “fun” activities. I feel like this holiday should be just as big as Christmas, if not bigger. After all, it’s the holiday that celebrates Jesus’ sacrifice and His defeat over sin and death.

So, what to do? I thought about it for a while and then decided that I would take the idea of an Easter Egg Hunt and make it into a hunt for truth about God.

Our son LOVES stories so I decided to write a simple version of the Easter story, cut it into scraps of paper, and hide the papers in plastic eggs.

Tomorrow, I will hid the eggs all over the place and have him search for them.

Then when he finds them all, we will crack open the eggs, put the papers in order by number and read the story. I think he is really going to enjoy this. The last egg has a piece of candy that he will be able to enjoy as well.

After the hunt, we will celebrate with a yummy treat and then “A” will get to open a present. I figure Jesus gave us the greatest gift on Easter so why not celebrate by giving gifts as well.

I know this is going to be SO MUCH FUN!  I can’t wait!  If you don’t have a plan that satisfies you, feel free to borrow mine.  Some of you moms already have various meaningful and enjoyable Easter traditions, so feel free to leave a comment with your traditions below.

Rejoicing in the Present,

Joy

 “Seek ye the Lord while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near:” – Isaiah 55:6

Leave a Reply

