living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Green Pastures and Still Waters

Leave a comment

Lambs Suckling

Psalm 23:2-3: “He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: He leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.”

We just resumed school this week after a week off last week for spring break. I’m so thankful my husband was able to take the week off, too, and we were able to enjoy several activities as a family.

The week was full of sweet memories such as trips to the playground, lunch at McDonald’s, a Cracker Barrel date for my husband and I, a visit to our Abeka representative who was in town so we could order next year’s school books, a first for our girls – playing miniature golf, along with several stops to get ice cream.  My daughters and I ended our week helping a precious little girl who is battling cancer celebrate her third birthday. This was an extra special treat for me because it meant a couple of hours of conversation with a dear friend who is always an encouragement to me because I can be open and real with her about “mom stuff”.

Another thing that made last week special were the revival services held at our church Sunday through Wednesday. They were very spiritually encouraging, refreshing and convicting.  They reminded me just how precious a treasure we have in God’s Word.

Last week was our planned spring break on our school calendar, but two weeks before we were off for a week because of something unplanned-me dealing with a bout of what turned out to be pneumonia!

Having to take an unplanned week off from school could be cause for frustration and complaint, but through it God showed me His green pastures and still waters.   My being sick was part of His plan. Through my illness, God showed me so many things to be thankful for – my husband being able to take off work to look after our kids, his making meals and cleaning up, snuggling with my kids on the couch watching countless episodes of Curious George and Thomas the Tank Engine, my mother-in-law coming over on a day my husband couldn’t take off work to watch the kids, her doing our laundry, taking our girls out for lunch and keeping them for three nights while I was recuperating, my mom coming over to help watch our 2-year-old son who was recovering from a double ear infection, and so many other blessings, big and small.

Some of the sweetest things that happened while I was recovering were specific answers to prayer. A couple nights after I was diagnosed with the pneumonia, my little boy wasn’t sleeping well due to his ear infection. Two nights in a row I asked the Lord to help him go back to sleep and within minutes he fell back to sleep. A third night I prayed as he was struggling to sleep and I went to check on him. This time I gave him some toys, then went to get him some medicine. By the time I returned with the medicine, he had quieted down and then fell back to sleep, not even needing the medicine.  Such a blessed answer to prayer that neither one of us lost much sleep that night!

It is so easy to want our “green pastures” and “still waters” to always be like our spring break, full of happy memories and fun times together, but God knows we also need the days (and sometimes weeks and months and even years) of trials and hard times to bring us closer to Him and remind us of all the things we should be thankful He gives us day by day!

Leave a Reply

