living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

Today…Tomorrow

1 Comment

100_317329C

Six years ago this coming Fourth of July I became a mother. I now sit and wonder where those nearly six years have gone. I don’t think I truly understood how quickly time would pass until I had children of my own.  All of those “firsts” of my oldest and her 4-1/2-year-old sister and 2-year-old brother are sweet memories, yet they fill my mind in a kind of blur because time went by much faster than I realized it would!  I’m so thankful for all the pictures and videos we have to look at and enjoy!

Thinking about how quickly time goes by reminds me that Scripture talks of life as a vapour – it vanishes away so quickly! We need to take advantage of each day (even the hard ones) that God gives us to teach our children about Him and His word.  We need to take the time to really look and listen when our children want to show or tell us something that is important to them.  We need to fill our time with things that truly matter – things that please the Lord and glorify Him.

Today…Tomorrow

Today my 5-year-old sits beside me and reads her first books; tomorrow I watch as she teaches her own children to read.

Today I help my 4-year-old zip up her coat; tomorrow I help that same “little girl” get dressed on her wedding day.

Today I hug my sweet little toddler boy; tomorrow I hug him goodbye as he leaves for college.

Today I try to answer the endless questions of an almost 6-year-old; tomorrow I try to answer the harder life questions of my nearly grown-up girl.

Today I stand beside my 4-year-old as she stirs pancake batter; tomorrow i sit down and enjoy a wonderful meal she has prepared herself.

Today I hold my little boy’s hand as we walk around the block; tomorrow my son holds my hand to steady his elderly mother as we walk together.

Be thankful for “today” and what God has given you; for “tomorrow” will be here before you know it!

James 4:14: “Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”

One thought on “Today…Tomorrow

  1. well done! good thoughts! Sharon Booth

Leave a Reply

