living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

4 Things I Can Control in an Out-of-Control World

Leave a comment

Lately, my heart has been so grieved. This world is so full of sin. Our nation is so full of sin. My own county is full of sin. My neighborhood and community are full of sin. I can hardly scroll through my newsfeed without feeling scared, anxious. So many personal conversations and phone calls are spent talking about current events, and how scary this world is getting.

Sometimes, my heart is pounding and I feel so completely scared. Scared for my kids.

bench 1

So many decisions our government makes don’t directly affect my family… yet. But I fear it is coming. The end times are near, and life is scary, just like the Bible says (II Timothy 3). People are lovers of themselves. They forget about God, then there seem to be no rules.

However, I cannot dwell on these events. I need to shut my laptop, put down my phone, and take care of the things I CAN control in an out-of-control world.

  1. I can control who my children come into contact with. We have chosen to home school our children. I do not believe it is for every family, but I know it is for ours. I know where they are all day. If your children attend school, know who their teachers are, know who their friends are. Know where they are!  Recently, I had a conversation with a mother whose youngest daughter just got married. Both her daughters are married now, and she was telling me how that she had always kept track of where they were, and who they were with. It makes a difference!
  2. I can control how much they learn about God. This is so sobering to me lately. Who knows what the future holds. Make the best use of the time you have to teach them about God! Take them to church. Get good entertainment for them. We love several audio series’ including Adventures in Odyssey, Patch the Pirate, Jonathan Park, The Brinkman Adventures, just to name a few. I can tell a difference immediately in my children’s behavior when I turn off the TV, and turn on something moral. And most importantly, teach them God’s Word directly. It’s always something we’re starting, stopping, and starting again. But we strive to teach them. Several simple tools are Great Stories of the Bible, Keys for Kids, and the Bible Songs for Kids (by Bible Truth Music – Scripture verses set to music).
  3. I can control the mood of my home. “If mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy” is pretty much true in a normally-functioning home. When I am in a rotten mood, it’s almost inevitable that everyone else will be. Make it a happy place! I cannot emphasize how important it is to be awake before the children to get my bearings, spend a few minutes alone with God, and prepare for my day. I often exercise before the day gets going. Happy endorphins, anyone? So why is a happy home important in this list? All my efforts are pretty much fruitless if I don’t do it in the joy of the Lord. Reading God’s Word helps remind me that I am here to be the salt and light of this world, starting with my home. I have an important job, and I need to create a happy place while I’m doing that job.
  4. I can control how much I pray. The more I pray and focus on the things of God, the more peace I have. “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:6-7). Prayer really works. It changes me, and it strengthens me. Pray, dear mom!

Every power on earth and in heaven

Is a shadow in His light,

No authority, law or government

Challenges His sovereign might.

His reign and rule have no boundary,

All that is, His hands have wrought.

Nothing ever can, nothing ever will

Overcome the Lord our God.

We are well aware we were orphans once,

Bent and broken in our shame,

Then He sought us out and adopted us,

Now we bear His royal name.

Every sin or crime we have ever done

Is no match for Jesus’ blood.

Nothing ever can, nothing ever will

Overcome the Lord, our God.

We are rescued out of darkest night,

Freed from Satan’s evil hold

And the kingdom of our Savior’s light

Is our soul’s eternal home.

Though the enemy tries to steal and kill

What the death of Christ has bought

Nothing ever can, nothing ever will

Overcome the Lord, our God.

Our God is victorious,

He always wins! He always wins!

In love He reigns over us,

He always wins! He always wins!

We, the Church, declare: Jesus Christ is King,

For He conquered death once for all.

We will live in light of His victory

Following His gospel call.

And when the story ends we know Jesus wins,

For His power cannot be stopped.

Nothing ever can, nothing ever will

Overcome the Lord, our God.

Nothing ever can, nothing ever will

Overcome the Lord, our God.

(Ross King)

Have a blessed day.

❤ Joy B.

Leave a Reply

