living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

A Firm Foundation

Leave a comment

IMG_2600

Life is full of changes – some I can control, but most I cannot. Observing circumstances in my changing world often fills me with despair and anxiety. BUT this is not how God desires for me to live my life! The Bible is filled with promises that give me a firm foundation when circumstances around me are changing like sinking sand.

Here are several things that do not change no matter what mankind does:

1. God never changes. He is the same all-powerful, all-knowing God today as He was in the days of Adam, Noah, Daniel, Peter, John and Paul.

“Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and today, and for ever.” Hebrews 13:8

“For I am the LORD, I change not; therefore ye sons of Jacob are not consumed.” Malachi 3:6

2. My salvation is secure because of what Jesus did on the cross. Because I repented of my sin and put my faith and trust in Jesus as my Savior, I am a child of the King of kings. No one can take that away from me. I am secure forever because of what my Savior did for me.

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

“And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of My hand. My Father, which gave them Me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of My Father’s hand. I and My Father are one.” John 10:28-30

3. This world is not my permanent home. There are times when life is going so well that we lose our perspective about where our treasures are truly to be. We can accumulate lots of “stuff” in this life and yet be found empty-handed some day when we stand before God. In these perilous days, we must be about our Lord’s business – reaching the lost and seeking to grow in our knowledge of the Lord and the Scriptures.

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God,and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” Matthew 6:33

4. My joy comes from the Lord, not my circumstances. Life’s ups and downs can steal my joy if I let them. If I need my joy restored, I must go to the Joy-Giver. His joy can sustain me through hard, uncertain days. Even when I’m unhappy, I can still find joy in His strength.

“…for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” Nehemiah 8:10

5. God still speaks to me through the Bible and hears me when I pray. These are some of the most precious gifts we have; yet how often we neglect them! When troubles come, so often we run to others or just give in to fear and focus on the “what-ifs”. When I was in college, a statement was made during a sermon that changed my viewpoint about worrying: “God will not give you the grace to worry.” This was a light bulb moment for me. I suddenly understood why emotionally I could get to such a place of despair when I would worry. What brings us to our knees in fear should instead bring us to our knees in prayer! We MUST open our Bibles to let God speak to us and we MUST pray and cast our burdens on the Lord.

“Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee: because he trusteth in Thee. Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength.” Isaiah 26:3-4

“Casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you.” I Peter 5:7

6. Jesus could come back at any moment. This one ties in with number 3. As things in our world seem to deteriorate before our eyes, we need to look up! We could be with our Savior and in Heaven at any moment!

“For the Lord Himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first. Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord. Wherefore comfort one another with these words.” I Thessalonians 4:16-18

7. Jesus still saves. All the things I’ve mentioned above don’t mean anything to you if you don’t know Him as your Savior. If you want to have a personal relationship with Him, you must repent of your sins and put your faith and trust in Him as your Savior. He wants to save you. You cannot do anything to save yourself. His promise of salvation is still true today.

“For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;” Romans 3:23

“For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.” Ephesians 2:8-9

“For whosoeover shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” Romans 10:13

One of my favorite hymns is “How Firm a Foundation”. My favorite verse is the fifth one:

“The soul that on Jesus hath leaned for repose,

I will not, I will not desert to his foes;

That soul, tho all hell should endeavor to shake,

I’ll never – no, never – no, never forsake!”

(R. Keen)

Remember – when you are tempted to fall on your knees in fear, instead fall on your knees in prayer! Our unchanging God is our firm foundation through all of life’s harshest storms!

“For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” II Timothy 1:7

Leave a Reply

