living on pb & j

Ordinary moms living on Prayer, the Bible, and Jesus!

A Greater Respect

2 Comments

Wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as unto the Lord. Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it..Eph. 5:22,25

Our Pastor has been preaching from the book of Ephesians for quite some time on Sunday nights, and the above verses were the meat of the last message.

Many times we hear jokes, even complaints of “wives, submit”. Granted, for many wives, their job can be very challenging in this area.

But as Pastor was preaching, he really brought out how the men have a much more challenging role here. “As Christ loved the church?” Wow! And how did/does Christ love the church? He GAVE His life! He loved our sinful selves! He loves us now, even though we’re saved and striving to live for Him, disappointing Him, hurting Him, hurting His cause, SIN!

So as I thought on my husband’s role as laid out in this passage, I have a much greater respect for his job. He is to love me so much he would give his life for me. He is to love me when I disappoint him. He is to love me when I’m totally unloveable! O my!

So when we and other ladies complain about “submit”, think of the job our husbands have. Let’s be the best “helpmeet”…one that our husbands need and desire.

I must say, my husband makes it easy for me to “submit”…and I know he loves me SO much! I’m SO blessed, and SO thankful for the marriage the Lord has given us!

We have the instructions in His Word. They lead to a happy home!

2 thoughts on “A Greater Respect

  1. Pingback: more thoughts from my facebook page | designing31

  2. Pingback: more thoughts from my facebook page | Designing 31

Leave a comment